The Foundation Stage

At Little Chestnuts your children will be engaging in fun, enriching and exciting activities which will support them in their readiness for school.

Your children will be working within the Foundation Stage, which is underpinned by four guiding principles. These are:

  1. Every child is a Unique and on their own learning journey.
  2. Children learn to be strong and independent through Positive Relationships.
  3. Children learn and develop well in Enabling Environments.
  4. Children are constantly Learning and Developing in different ways and at different.

The Foundation Stage consists of 7 curriculum areas.

The prime areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Communication and language

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The children will be working to achieve the early learning goals by the end of their Reception year.

Your children will be supported through the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’. These are:

Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to have a go

Active Learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do

Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things
“The Foundation Stage principles and curriculum areas will form the environment of the children's experiences. They really do provide an excellent basis for the progression to Reception learning when children start school.”
Sarah Badham
Early Years Lead

Quicklinks for Parents

Find out about Government Funding

Little Chestnuts Pre-school, Station Road, Woodmancote, Cheltenham, GL52 9HN
T: 01242 674312 • E: Find us on Google Maps
Site Map • Site by Gloucestershire Schools • Visit the Woodmancote School website • Staff login